DIY/Tutorials, Looks, Trends

How to choose the perfect prom dress…

Untitled 1

So as the New Year begins it’s only natural for 2014’s future prom queens to be scouring the internet for their perfect prom dresses – all with a dream dress idea in the back of their minds I’m sure. When I was 15 I actually did my work experience in a prom dress boutique in my home town and what I’ll always remember is these girls coming in with very specific ideas for their dress and leaving with something completely different BUT something that would most likely suit them a lot better than their previous idea.

The easiest way to stun everyone in your prom dress is to pick a colour that you wouldn’t usually wear, for example if you wear a lot of black maybe go for something really bright like a nice red dress… red after all has a reputation for being a stand-out sexy colour and is sure to have everyone’s eyes on you and you alone.

reddress

However if you really want to find your perfect prom dress, it’s important to shop for your body shape.  If any of you are fans of Gok Wan like me you’ll know that by dressing for your shape you can really enhance your appearance to another level-  to find out which body shape you are please check out: http://www.bodyshapefashionadvice.com/

I personally fit into the boring rectangular shape category, which basically means I’m slim but not well endowed in the curves department so when I’m shopping I go for clothes which will give the illusion of a curvaceous figure. To do this I go for dresses which highlight my boobs – maybe with a lower neckline in a fitted fabric that also emphasizes my small waist with some kind of frilled/pleated design.

Untitled 5
Such as the gorgeous pink dress above, for just £69.99! I’ve genuinely never seen such a vast selection of prom dresses for such cheap prices… if only I could go back in time and have my prom again!

One of the most common body shapes is the pear shape- meaning you’re blessed with a more curvaceous derrière but with less up top. The key to championing the pear shape is to balance out your proportions, in terms of a prom dress your best option is a dress with some form of embellishment around the chest and floor length floaty material such as chiffon; this sweetheart neckline is not only gorgeous but will be gorgeous on you too…

chiffon

Next up is the envied hourglass shape – if you’re lucky to have big boobs as well as a nice arse and slim waist then congratulations you have won at life! For you the key is in the waistline, look out for a dress with an embellished or belted waist

Untitled 8

This dress couldn’t be more perfect for an hourglass gal and for £89 you really will not find any cheaper!

Whatever your shape or budget http://www.1dress.co.uk is well worth a gander, I really wish I knew about them before my prom in which I ended up going in a cheap dress I found in new look…

282039_10150248265170819_643775818_7789135_8046970_n

It seemed like a good idea at the time but looking back I’d have been able to get a dress 5X as nice from 1dress for about the same price!

Remember kids, take your time and choose wisely!

Standard

Leave a Reply

