When I was about 13/14 years old, I heard Made Of Bricks by Kate Nash and became absolutely infatuated with her quirky hopeless romantic anecdotes which I later found I could really identify with during the days of my lost and confused teenage love life or the lack of it.
I still cringe a bit at the thought of myself printing out a photo of Kate from google images and asking for my hairdresser to replicate it, just as I’d done a few years before with Nadine from Girls Aloud – but let’s not go down the road…

I always loved Kate’s style, the vintage dresses and pretty shoes were maybe where I got a lot of my fashion tastes from today. I remember at the time I just had to settle with wearing summery dresses from Primark because the only thing we had remotely close to a vintage shop in my home town was Cancer Research! I just loved the way she could express herself through her clothes, she never felt the need to follow trends, if anything she set them.
Kate-Nash

That’s why I think at first I was a little shocked when Kate went down the whole ‘riot girl’ route, I was probably just confused if anything – where had cute little Kate and her chirpy keyboard gone?!

– Underestimate the girl, Kate Nash
Was just so punky I couldn’t get my head round it and I honestly think it scared me off a bit, so much so it’s taken me till now to listen to her Girl Talk album! I really wish I had done sooner because songs like OMYGOD and 3am currently just sum up my life perfectly. I adore the 50s/60s looks Kate’s got going on the videos and particularly lyrics like : The sun’s shining down on me but I’m not getting no vitamin D, really made me laugh. Once again her charming wit and analogies that I loved have been returned to where they belong.

‘Girl Talk’ Kate’s new album, talks about how lost we feel after losing someone from our lives and how the little things remind us of them – particularly from a woman’s point of view. How it feels to be repressed and how you notice things when you’re no longer with them, in an upbeat indie style. I truly have been converted to Kate’s new style and as soon as I get paid I’ll be LEGALLY purchasing Girl Talk from the lovely people of iTunes! – Keep it up Kate

Leave a comment